GRNC Alert 3-8-2013: Support Pro-Gun Bills in NC Legislature!

Constitutional amendment, campus carry, & more…

SB 190: ‘Gun on Ed. Prop./Stored in Locked Car’

Drafted with assistance from GRNC and sponsored by Sen. Bill Cook(R-Beaufort, Camden, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hyde, Pasquotank, Perquimans, GRNC ****), SB 190 would allow concealed handgun permit-holders to keep firearms in locked motor vehicles on educational properties, further permitting their removal for defensive purposes. Although the bill is not the full campus carry bill which GRNC is shepherding (and which will soon be introduced), SB 190 would apply to all concealed handgun permit-holders, unlike other bills introduced to date. Beyond providing limited means for self-defense, it would prevent thousands of parents, taking children to school, from becoming accidental felons.

HB 246: ‘The Gun Rights Amendment’

First, let us note that the main mover behind the bill, Rep. Larry Pittman (R-Cabarrus, GRNC ****), is arguably the greatest patriot in the General Assembly. He is already being attacked for his patriotism, and we need to defend him.

HB 246 is admittedly a “hail Mary” pass. If passed, however, it would be the most comprehensive expansion of gun rights in North Carolina history. In addition to removing language from Section 30 of the North Carolina Constitution which says, “Nothing herein shall justify the practice of carrying concealed weapons, or prevent the General Assembly from enacting penal statutes against that practice”, it would expand concealed carry into restaurants, court buildings, assemblies for which admission is charged, and elsewhere.

HR 63: ‘Support Right to Bear Arms’

Sponsored by Rep. Michael Speciale (R-Beaufort, Craven, Pamlico, GRNC ****), HR 63 simply reaffirms the Second Amendment and North Carolina Constitution language on the individual right to keep and bear arms, notes that the Obama administration is proposing restrictions on that right, notes that gun control has not been found in studies to be effective, and passes on that purely symbolic reaffirmation to the North Carolina congressional delegation.

GRNC normally doesn’t expend resources on non-binding resolutions and, frankly, considered this so non-controversial we didn’t even issue an alert prior to its hearing in the House Rules Committee. But that was before North Carolinians “Against Gun Violence” rallied its radicals against the resolution, whining:

Despite the rhetoric about ‘individual rights’ and gun laws being unconstitutional, five years of legal decisions show, legislators and activists should feel confident that a variety of smart laws are constitutional, desperately needed, and desired by the majority of North Carolinians!”

IMMEDIATE ACTION REQUIRED!

For SB 190: ‘Gun on Ed. Prop./Stored in Locked Car’

  • Contact members of the Senate Rules Committee, to which the bill has been referred

  • Thank Sens. Bill Cook & Andrew Brock for their leadership on this issue

For HB 246: ‘The Gun Rights Amendment’

  • Contact members of the House Rules Committee and ask them for a committee hearing. Note: Please bear in mind that Rules Chair Tim Moore has been a consistent friend of gun owners. Please treat him accordingly

  • Thank Rep. Pittman for his patriotism

For HR 63: ‘Support Right to Bear Arms’

HR 63 passed the Rules Committee on Tuesday and is now headed to the House floor. To counter an organization so antithetical to freedom that it feels compelled to put the words “individual rights” in quotes, immediately contact your House rep and tell them to vote for HR 63.

 

DELIVER THIS MESSAGE

CONTACT INFORMATION FOR SB 190
Senate Rules Committee:

Chairman: Sen. Tom Apodaca

Vice Chairman: Sen. Peter S. Brunstetter

Members: Sen. Chad BarefootSen. Dan BlueSen. Andrew C. Brock,Sen. Harry BrownSen. Ben ClarkSen. Kathy HarringtonSen. Ralph HiseSen. Brent JacksonSen. Clark JenkinsSen. Wesley Meredith,Sen. Martin L. Nesbitt, Jr.Sen. E. S. (Buck) NewtonSen. Bill Rabon,Sen. Josh Stein

Copy and paste email list: Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net, Peter.Brunstetter@ncleg.netChad.Barefoot@ncleg.net, Dan.Blue@ncleg.net, Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net, Harry.Brown@ncleg.net, Ben.Clark@ncleg.net, Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net, Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net, Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net, Clark.Jenkins@ncleg.net, Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net, Martin.Nesbitt@ncleg.net, Buck.Newton@ncleg.net, Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net, Josh.Stein@ncleg.net

Members of the Senate Rules Committee:

SB 190: “Gun on Ed. Prop./Stored in Locked Car” deserves a committee hearing. Often, bills referred to the Rules Committee are sentenced by leadership to death. However, SB 190 is reasonable and moderate legislation which will not only serve to deter violent predators but will protect thousands of parents, who keep firearms in their vehicles and take their kids to school, from the risk of being prosecuted as accidental felons.

I strongly urge you to either give SB 190 a hearing in the Rules Committee, or re-refer it to a Judiciary Committee. Please advise me of your position on this issue. I will be monitoring committee actions via Grass Roots North Carolina legislative alerts.

Respectfully,

CONTACT INFORMATION FOR HB 246
House Rules Committee

Chairman: Rep. T. Moore

Vice Chairman: Rep. Burr

Vice Chairman: Rep. Stam

Members: Rep. BlustRep. BolesRep. BrandonRep. BrissonRep. CarneyRep. DaughtryRep. Farmer-ButterfieldRep. FloydRep. L. HallRep. HamiltonRep. HastingsRep. HollowayRep. Jackson,Rep. JohnsonRep. LewisRep. MoffittRep. SaineRep. Samuelson,Rep. StarnesRep. StoneRep. Torbett

Copy and paste email list: Tim.Moore@ncleg.net, Justin.Burr@ncleg.net, Paul.Stam@ncleg.net, John.Blust@ncleg.net, Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net, Marcus.Brandon@ncleg.net, William.Brisson@ncleg.net, Becky.Carney@ncleg.net, Leo.Daughtry@ncleg.net, Jean.Farmer-Butterfield@ncleg.net, Elmer.Floyd@ncleg.net, Larry.Hall@ncleg.net, Susi.Hamilton@ncleg.net, Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.net, Bryan.Holloway@ncleg.net, Darren.Jackson@ncleg.net, Linda.Johnson2@ncleg.net, David.Lewis@ncleg.net, Tim.Moffitt@ncleg.net, Jason.Saine@ncleg.net, Ruth.Samuelson@ncleg.net, Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net, Michael.Stone@ncleg.net, John.Torbett@ncleg.net

Members of the House Rules Committee:

HB 246: “The Gun Rights Amendment” deserves a committee hearing. Often, bills referred to the Rules Committee are sentenced by leadership to death. But concealed handgun permit-holders have spent eighteen years proving themselves sane, sober and law-abiding. It is time for legislative leadership to stand up to the media and the anti-gun left by expanding concealed carry and making North Carolina a model for the nation.

Please advise me of your position on this issue. I will be monitoring committee actions via Grass Roots North Carolina legislative alerts.

Respectfully,

CONTACT INFORMATION FOR HR 63

Contact your House rep and tell them to vote for HR 63.

Find your NC House rep by going to:http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/representation/WhoRepresentsMe.aspx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *